Horror Movie a Day: Week 5

Image

So I’m changing things up this week.  After a month of not only watching a horror movie every day, but also writing a 1000-2500 word article on each film each day, I realized that was crazy.  So what I’m doing now is keeping a running list, and each week I’ll update the list.  In addition, I’ll do a little bit of art based around my favorite film or films from that week.  Obviously this week was all about Marina De Van’s movies In My Skin and Dark Touch, both which pretty much floored me.  Oddly I stopped writing about these movies when I got to these films.  But I think at some point I might like to write a long piece on her films since there’s only one left for me to see, and so far I’ve found them all hugely inspiring and very useful with what I do with my art.

Anyways.

This week’s update(links go to the articles I wrote on each film):

6-1
Nadja (Dir. Michael Almereyda)

Baby Blood (Dir. Alain Robak)
Trouble Every Day (Dir. Claire Denis)

Bay of Blood (Dir. Mario Bava)

In My Skin (Dir Marina de Van)
Halloween III (Dir. Tommy Lee Wallace)
Halloween 2(Zombie) (Dir. Rob Zombie)
Dark Touch (Dir. Marina De Van)
Lizard in a Woman’s Skin (Dir. Lucio Fulci)

The Vanishing (Dir. George Sluizer)

 

Master List:
#1: Humanoids from the Deep (Dir. Barbara Peeters)
#2: Shock (Dir. Mario Bava)
#3: Don’t Torture a Duckling (Dir. Lucio Fulci)
#4: Female Vampire (Dir. Jess Franco)

#5 The Iron Rose (Dir. Jean Rollin)
#6: Alucarda (Dir. Juan López Moctezuma)
#7: Wake In Fright (Dir. Tedd Kotcheff)
#8: American Mary (Dir. Jen & Sylvia Soska)
#9: American Mary (Dir. Jen & Sylvia Soska) and Gore
#10: Lisa and the Devil (Dir. Mario Bava)
#11: Critters (Dir. Stephen Herek)
#12: Szamanka (Dir. Andrzej Zulawski)

#13: The Whip and the Body (Dir. Mario Bava)
#14: City of the Living Dead (Dir. Lucio Fulci)
#15: White Zombie (Dir. Victor Halperin)
#16: Hardware (Dir. Richard Stanley)
#17: The New York Ripper (Dir. Lucio Fulci)
# 18: The Bird With The Crystal Plumage (Dir. Dario Argento)
#19: Black Christmas (Dir. Bob Clark)

#20: The Beyond (Lucio Fulci)
#21: Dressed to Kill (Brian De Palma)
#22: A Nightmare on Elm Street 2 (Dir. Jack Sholder)
#23: Candyman (Dir. Bernard Rose)
#24: Rosemary’s Baby (Dir. Roman Polanski)
#25: The Innocents (Dir. Jack Clayton)
#26: Phantasm (Dir Don Coscarelli)
#27: Nadja (Dir. Michael Almereyda)

#28: Baby Blood (Dir. Alain Robak)
#29: Trouble Every Day (Dir. Claire Denis)

#30: Bay of Blood (Dir. Mario Bava)

#31: In My Skin (Dir Marina de Van)
#32: Halloween III (Dir. Tommy Lee Wallace)
#33: Halloween 2(Zombie) (Dir. Rob Zombie)
#34: Dark Touch (Dir. Marina De Van)
#35: Lizard in a Woman’s Skin (Dir. Lucio Fulci)

#36: The Vanishing (Dir. George Sluizer)

 

1 comment
  1. Angus Gillett said:

    Dear Sarah, I’ve been jonesing for your daily horror posts, looking forward to the next batch. I’ve been following your work for the past year. You have an admirable approach to critical thinking in whatever medium you choose to write about with a strong personal aesthetic basis that does not conflict with your seeking the heart and subtleties of another’s work. I try not to be entertained anymore. I am an artist who treats all art created by others as an occasion to commune with the minds of other artists, to educate myself in order to be a better artist, and to better approach the question of what art is- and from my reading of your critical work, I believe you are as well. Every time I read your critical work I’m inspired in my own endeavors. I hope to get some of your creative work as well as soon as soon as circumstances permit, but what I’ve already seen is no less strong than your critical writing. Keep working, every damn day of your life. Work alone will save you, and help others to save themselves as well.

Leave a Reply

